Why, Naturally!

Food January 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life,Uncategorized — Laura @ 10:49 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have a great love for food.  I take pride in turning basic ingredients into delicious dishes to serve to my family and friends.  I also love finding restaurants that serve amazing food that I can’t wait to go back for…from the finest dining to the simplest corner café.

I get a lot of my inspiration for what i will make while shopping for the raw ingredients.  Shortly after settling into my new diggs a friend drove me to a local farm market about 10 mins away from my apartment…I was in heaven!

The market is not fancy and there is no song and dance.  Just fresh, mostly locally grown, produce and flowers/plants.  Between April and late December this will be my main food shopping location, however, in the winter months I’m stuck with the big chain grocery shops or small markets around the city that charge outrageously for out of season crops.  I generally end up going with the chain, if for no better reason than the abundance of parking.  The issue, though, is that I find it difficult to squeeze any inspiration out of the flourescent lighting and sad colorless surroundings found in the local Safeway. Since the market closed I’ve found myself flipping, uninterested, through countless cook books and scouring the internet for recipes that draw me in and I’m finding it increasingly more difficult.  I’m definitely on a budget and, regardless of how many amazing restaurants I’ve found in the last six months, there is no way that I will be eating take-away until April!

I often wonder how so many people find the daily inspiration to create a meal for themselves or their family.  How much organization and preparation goes into daily meals in households around the world?  Where do others find their cooking  inspiration?  Am I making my life more difficult by trying to make new and different recipes from day to day and week to week?  Should I choose a few things and stick to making them over and over until I’ve got my inspiration back?

I’m off to thumb through a recipe book, but if you’ve got any great food blogs, recipe sites or cook books that you draw inspiration from feel free to let me know in the comments or email me!

 

One Response to “Food”

  1. Donna Says:

    I just started a cooking blog at roguecooking.wordpress.com
    There’s not much there yet but I’d love for you to check it out. Perhaps in time I’ll provide you with some cooking inspiration. By the way, I LOVE farmer’s markets, too.


Leave a Reply

