Why, Naturally!

Procrastination February 1, 2010

I’m pretty awesome when it comes to procrastination, it’s kinda my thing.  Not that I should be, or necessarily am, proud of that fact…I’ve just come to terms with it.

I’ve been running low on mascara for a couple of weeks now.  I know I will run out one of these days, sooner than later, and I’ll have to go to work looking like I don’t have eyelashes.  I suppose it’s not a big deal.  The issue is, it doesn’t really have to be an issue at all…I just have to get dressed, get on the bus, go down to the natural pharmacy and purchase said mascara.  Maybe I’ll do it tomorrow…

As I’ve mentioned previously, I moved here six months ago.  I’ve made several moves in the past ten years and I have never once completely settled in to one place before moving on to the next.  For each move I make there are always boxes that have remained unpacked from the previous move.  Things that are completely awesome, but I’ve clearly forgotten that I own.  The items that remain boxed are not always the same from home to home, there seems to be a constant rotation of totally awesome crap being stuffed in closets and storage rooms only to be looked at upon the next move.  That being said, I’ve got OMG so many boxes here that are either half unpacked or not even touched.  Hell, I’ve still got boxes at my mom’s house in Manitoba that haven’t been shipped here yet!  I totally don’t have the room for all of these boxes to just be sitting around;  my closets are full and my storage room is in a rather cram-packed state.  I would, inevitably be creating a tidier looking and less cluttered living space for myself if I would just take the shit out of the boxes and find better homes for it…then I can call up my mom and have her ship me more boxes that can sit around and crowd my space instead of hers!  Maybe I’ll get started on that tomorrow…

I’m halfway through a book and it’s not really capturing my attention, but I try not to give up on books, so I’m sticking it out til the end.  This book is a ~400 page standard paperback, nothing really daunting.  I’ve been reading the silly thing for about two or three weeks!!!  If the story line had captured me I wouldn’t have been able to put the book down and would have been finished it in a week, however, because I’m not fully committed, I procrastinate when it comes to finding time to read.  Maybe I haven’t given the book enough of a chance, perhaps the second half will blow me away and I’ll be sorry that I let it sit around waiting for me for so long.  It sits close by, taunting me every day, but I only really grab it to stick my nose in it when I’m going to hop on the bus to go to work.  I know that the sooner I just read the damn thing the sooner I can move on to one of the eight (8) new books that I have sitting on my bookshelf, calling my name day after day.  Maybe I’ll get started on that tomorrow…

 

One Response to “Procrastination”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    Some books are tough reads and demand that one engage more of the brain than one normally would with the usual crap the traditional publishers churn out like nuts and bolts. When I finish a smart, tough read, I feel smarter and glad that I didn’t take the easy way out. Good for you for sticking with books to the bitter end. This author salutes you!


Leave a Reply

