Why, Naturally!

What!? February 8, 2010

Filed under: Change — Laura @ 10:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I have psoriasis.  As some of you may know, psoriasis is a systemic/auto-immune disorder that often manifests dermatologically.  My symptoms are not horrible, however, they’re not a walk in the park either!

I’ve never been a fan of the means that medical doctors take to treat the symptoms of the disorder with corticosteroids and hydrocortisone creams.  That shit will f*ck you up!  Also, why just treat the surface symptoms with creams?  Why are we not getting to the root of the problem?

I recently found myself in a naturopathic pharmacy, so I asked some questions about natural treatment options and dietary changes that I can make in an effort to reduce my symptoms.  Many of the things that I was told I have heard before; drink a cleansing tea with Oregon Grape, reduce stress, introduce probiotics into your diet,…  And then came: cut dairy from your diet completely.

CUT DAIRY!?  Ouch!  I realize for some that this isn’t a big deal at all, however, this breaks my heart.  I’m willing to go for it and see if it helps me out at all, I’m not so stubborn that I won’t give it a chance.  I’m going to miss it though!  Waking up in the morning to a cup of coffee with milk, having milk with cookies, morning yogurt, ice cream.  These are all easily replaced with soy, rice or almond alternatives, however, what about cottage cheese, sour cream and block cheese?  I realize that there are soy alternatives to block cheese, but does it taste good?  Does it melt like dairy cheese does?  Some of my favorite recipes include cheese; lasagna, shepherd’s pie, tuna noodle casserole and holy shit people PIZZA!!

Like I mentioned earlier, I will be doing this.  I plan to finish the milk and yogurt in my fridge and not buy any more for at least a month to give myself a chance to see if the elimination of all of these delicious dairy delights makes a difference in my life.  I will keep you posted on the results!  In the meantime, if you know of any delicious dairy alternatives please feel free to email me or leave a comment on this post!

 

Leave a Reply

