Why, Naturally!

Green February 16, 2010

I’m a snob.

And I’m not afraid to admit it.  I’m not a snob in the sense that I treat people like I think I’m better than they are, I’m a product snob.  I do everything I can to avoid letting products into my home that contain synthetic chemicals.  Yes, I have changed over many of my everyday products, however, I have a long way to go before I can say that I’m 100% chemical free in my home.  It’s a goal that I strive to achieve for my own health and for the health of my loved ones.

I’m not a “dirty hippy” intent on spreading love and patchouli all over the world…yet!  I’ve made simple changes like switching my soaps, shampoos, dish detergent, laundry detergent, makeup, skin care, etc over to 100% natural products that are both safe for the environment and for my body.  I also buy organic produce, meat and general grocery items when possible.  I didn’t make all of these changes over night, I’ve been making changes for the last two and a half years in an effort to lead a healthier life.  Some natural or organic products are seemingly quite costly when compared to their not-so-natural/chemical filled counterparts, however, you will soon find that with the omission of junky fillers and unnecessary chemicals the concentrated pure ingredients that are left last so much longer because you need so much less to get the job done!

So now you’re thinking:  How do I know what products are good for me?  Read the ingredient lists!!  Don’t believe the packaging when it tells you that the product is “all natural” or has “organic ingredients!”  The cosmetics industry is very much uncontrolled when it comes to ingredients and wording on packaging….scary huh?!  Don’t be afraid!  Just educate yourself!  I’ll list some basics to avoid:

  • sodium laurel sulfate/sodium laureth sulfate (they’re in everything….go look, you’ll be surprised!)
  • parabens – methyl, ethyl, propyl, butyl, etc…)
  • pthalates – any packaging that lists “fragrance” or “perfume” as an ingredient has these as well as most soft plastics (think kids toys)…get rid of em!
  • petrochemicals – mineral oil, paraffin, petroleum jelly, petrolatum, propylene glycol, etc…

Challenge yourself to change over at least one household or personal product to a natural alternative this week!  Let me know about your results in the comments.  If you have any questions about the safety of any products that you have in your home or are interested in purchasing the Cosmetics Safety Database is a fantastic resource!  Here’s a little video that should really get you thinking, especially if you have any children in your life!

 

Leave a Reply

