Why, Naturally!

Atari March 22, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life — Laura @ 8:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

My brother always had the coolest “toys”.  He always watched the coolest shows on tv.  As far as my little brain could imagine, he was pretty much the coolest person to ever walk the earth…and he was totally my brother!

He was 11 years older than myself, a child of the 70’s.  By the time I was old enough to be the only member of his fan club, in the late 80’s he was a teenager with better things to do than hang out with his little sister.  Even when he wasn’t around though, all of his cool “stuff” was!

As a kid I think I spent as much time playing with my big brother’s G.I. Joe figurines and toy trucks as I did playing with my own Barbie dolls and cabbage patch kids.  Nothing, though, was as exciting to me as this:

I could never get enough pong.  Seriously.  I wasn’t good at the game, not even a little bit.  When I finally got bored of the ball and paddles I moved on to Q*bert which proved to be entertaining for several years…  Don’t judge, I lived in a small town…I didn’t get out much!  And, I was probably around 8 or 9 years old!

Imagine my surprise when, while walking through the Costco, my gaze fell upon this:

I now have 40 pre-installed games to keep me entertained for hours.  Hopefully several hours.  I’m not holding my breath on the entertainment value of this little gem, but it certainly brings back a lot of good memories for me!

It’s not plugged in as of yet, but I’ll report back on whether it’s worth the $30 that I spent on it or not!

 

Leave a Reply

