Why, Naturally!

Memories April 7, 2010

Filed under: Daily Life — Laura @ 8:54 pm
Tags: , ,

Misty water-colored memories…

of the way I was?

I’ve recently been bitten by the spring cleaning bug and I’ve been doing a complete overhaul on my apartment.  Mind you, I should be doing my taxes and leaving the spring cleaning for next month when I don’t have so many things on my plate…but what’s the fun in that?!

When I moved to Vancouver I came with what I could bring on the plane and I sent some of my prized possessions on a Greyhound to meet me here.  Any other cherished treasures are in storage, back “home” in Manitoba.  The point I’m trying to get to is that I don’t have a lot of “stuff”, which is good because I also don’t have a lot of space.  Unfortunately, I tend to be a world-class procrastinator so, of course, I have boxes sitting around still neatly packed from my move over six months ago.  This past weekend saw many of those boxes pried open and the bits of my life from within placed in their new homes around my new home.

Most of the contents of the boxes were nothing to get excited about.  Some lengths of fabric, towels, kitchen gadgets, knick-knacks, etc.  Some of those boxes, the ones I’ve been looking most forward to unpacking, held within the products and tools of my trade: nail polish, files, cuticle nippers, wax pots, fabric strips, lotions and potions and makeup.  OH THE MAKEUP!  I was, for a short time while I unpacked and organized pretty pink polishes, a rainbow of eyeshadow and delicate rhinestones, floating on a cloud.

I’m in the business of beauty.  I’m an esthetician, aesthetician for the Americans in the crowd.  I’ve got the student loan and the Diploma to show for it.  Due to an unfortunate back and neck injury I am unable to work in my field, what a bummer!  I’ve got the tools and the skills and I did have some very lucky friends with gorgeous nails and fabulous makeup before I moved.  For now I choose to only use my skills on myself since I don’t really know many people here well enough to invite them into my home for spa treatments.  I’m not sure that I will ever offer my services to anyone other than myself again but, in the same breath, I’m not sure that I won’t offer them either.

And now, I have an undying urge to nip my cuticles and polish my nails with something pretty and spring-y!

 

Leave a Reply

